THE THREE DAYS PPSA ALL INDIA PRINCIPALS & TEACHERS’ CONFERENCE CULMINATES 3 Lifetime Achievement Awards, 5 Distinguished Service Awards, 14 Uttarakhand Ratan Awards and 28 Shiksha Ratan Awards conferred on Eminent Educationists, Principals & Teachers Dated: Sunday, 18th December 2016; The three days National Conference organized under the aegis of National Executive Committee of Principals Progressive Schools Association, Uttarakhand India, on the themes ‘People Matter: Growing Self, Growing Others, Growing Community’ for Principals and ‘Innovate, Motivate, Differentiate’ for Teachers. Approximately 300 Teachers and 100 Principals and Chairpersons of elite public school from across the country participated in the conference. The third and the last day of the Conference was exclusively for the Principals & Chairpersons. The first session of the day was presented by Dr. Harish Chaudhry, Professor IIT New Delhi on the topic, ‘Instructional Leadership-A Conversation with Principals’. Elaborating his views on the topic, Dr. Chaudhry said, “The present generation has been exposed to an explosion of information, the Teacher and Principal have to keep themselves updated as per the emerging trends. We cannot change the thing which we cannot measure and we cannot monitor the thing that we cannot do”. The next session was presented by Dr. Kamal Taori, IAS (Retd.) who spoke on the topic, ‘Attitudinal Realignment of School Leaders’. Dr. Taori very articulately summed up his views and threw light on the importance of the attitudinal realignment. Dr. Taori said, “Making policies is one thing and implementing and executing them is an art and science which the school leaders have to excel at”. The post lunch session was presented by Mr. Ashok Ganguly, Former Chairman, CBSE who elaborated his views on ‘Measuring up globally – reinventing school education for excellence’. Mr. Ganguly’s session was an intellectual treat for the delegates as it proved to be a tool for revolution and reforms in school education. Mr. Ganguly said, “The School Leaders need new mindsets and thinkers, be it the management, the Principal, the Teachers or the students”. The Valedictory Ceremony of the Conference began at 3:00 p.m. The Chief Guest of the Valedictory Ceremony was Maj Gen Mandip Singh, Dy Commandant, IMA Dehradun and the Guest of Honour was Mr. Ashok Ganguly. The President PPSA, Shri Prem Kashyap presented the Conference Report and threw light on the objectives of PPSA and the activities being conducted under its auspices. Shri Kashyap said, “The three days conference has been an intellectual feast for the teachers and the Principals, I am sure that the teachers must have been equipped with the needed skills to face the challenges in classroom transactions as well as issues beyond it. The three sessions presented by the learned Resource Persons for the Principals & Chairpersons must have provided them with a précised guideline to lead from the front and bring about excellence in education”. The Chief Guest, Maj Gen Mandip Singh, VSM, in his address threw light on the importance of Effective School Leadership and role of Principal in particular. Gen Mandip said, “Education is what which produces responsible global citizens, teachers & parents have great responsibilities for achieving this goal”. Gen Mandip appreciated the efforts of the National Executive Committee of Principals Progressive Schools’ Association under the dynamism of its President, Mr. Prem Kashyap for providing such platform for teachers & Principals to groom their skills and abilities and to enhance their capacities. The Annual Souvenir of PPSA was also released on this occasion by the dignitaries on the dais. The Souvenir is a mirror reflection of the plethora of activities conducted under the aegis of PPSA. The National Executive Committee of PPSA also honoured leading Principals, distinguished Chairpersons, Eminent Educationists and learned teachers by conferring various awards on them. The awardees on this occasion were the following: LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD: 1. Maj Gen (Retd.) K N Bhatt, AVSM, Former Addnl Director General, Army Education Core 2. Mr. N S Rana, Former Deputy Commissioner, Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan 3. Shri J.B. Sharma, Former Deputy Commissioner, Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD: 1. Mrs. Neeru Kashyap, Jt. Director, Doon Cambridge School, Dehradun 2. Mr. Amarjeet Singh, President, The Asian School, Dehradun 3. Mrs. M.K. Mann, Founder Principal, Doon International School, Dehradun 4. Mr. C. S. Gwal, Former Director of Education, Govt. of Uttarakhand 5. Mr. David Hilton, Principal, Hilton School, Dehradun UTTARAKHAND RATAN AWARD: 1. Mrs. Gunmeet Bindra, Principal, Welham Boys’ School, Dehradun 2. Mr. Sanjay Kumar Mishra, Principal, Army Public School, Dagshai, H.P. 3. Capt (IN) Rohit Dwivedi, Principal, Sainik School Ghorakhal 4. Col Kapil Dev Koushal, Principal, Sainik School Nagrota 5. Mr. Praveen Masta, Principal, Jagran Public School, Noida 6. Mr. B.K. Singh, Principal, Delhi Public School, Dehradun 7. Dr. Neeta Bali, Principal, Kasiga School, Dehradun 8. Mr. Mayank Gaur, Chairman, Galaxian International School, Dehradun 9. Mrs. Neerja Dandriyal, Principal, Siddharth Public School, Dehradun 10. Mrs. B. Gill, Principal, The Heritage School, Dehradun 11. Dr. Charu Sharma, Principal, Kendriya Vidyalaya F.R.I., Dehradun 12. Mr. Sandeep Nethani, Principal, Gurunanak School, Rudrapur 13. Mrs. Rashi Kashyap, Director, Children’s Academy, Dehradun 14. Mrs. Rajnikanta Bisht, Principal, BLM Academy, Haldwani Besides the above, 28 Shiksha Ratan Awards were conferred upon learned teachers of various schools. The Secretary PPSA, Mr. A.K. Das proposed the Vote of thanks. The other dignitaries present on the occasion were, Dr. S.C. Biala, Principal Cambrian Hall School, Mr. D.S. Mann, Chairman, Doon International School, Mrs. Kiran Kashyap, Principal Children’s Academy, Shri Vinod Dandona, Col Deepak Badhwar, Col Vinit Wadhwa, Manager Pandey, Mr. Punit Mittal and many heads of the institutions. (Vineet Kumar Sharma) Chief Admin. Officer